Home » Personal Growth » Going into adulthood

Going into adulthood

I had a bit of a relapse in my anxiety and depression the past two weeks, as you can probably tell from my previous post. Everything is okay now. I have great support and have gone through enough change that I can stay pretty positive through such devastating moments.

In just one week, I will officially be graduating from university! It’s been a long five years and I am completely ready. One week of reading and exams stands between me and adulthood.

Speaking of adulthood, I have been applying for jobs up the wazoo. In the past two months I think I’ve applied for around 25 jobs ranging from temporary to full-time. A couple of places were very positive and told me they loved me, even asked me for my documentation. After waiting for the phone call about paperwork, I decided to call back and found out from both places that they hired other people. I was very frustrated.

In just one day last week, I accepted two part-time positions! I was also accepted to a full-time position at a rehabilitation/retirement center, but after job shadowing I determined it was not where I belonged right now. Instead, I will be working with a church preschool as a lunch and classroom monitor. On the weekends, I will be a barista at Books-a-Million. Both are jobs that I’ve been really excited to do at some point and both were offered to me at the same time. I’m very excited.

Transportation will be the main issue for now. I have been working on getting my license for a long time, but I now have someone helping me practice driving so I think the time is finally coming. The city bus does not run on weekends, and the mall is quite an unsafe walking distance from my house. My friend told me that he is willing to drive me for three months until I save up enough for a car, but he works at the same times on weekends. I’m going to be asking for help from a lot of friends and acquaintances, but I hope they understand that I’m working on it rather than relying on them.

 

Stay tuned: My next post will be discussing my process of minimizing my life.

Leave a comment